Cyber Awareness




Application Permissions on Android Devices


    Dangers of Mobile Internet
  • Damaged Reputations: Uploading provocative photos of oneself to gain recognition, which can backfire.
  • Revenge porn - explicit images of a person are shared without their knowledge or consent.
  • Recording your private conversations without you knowing and sending it to an attacker.
  • Cyberbullying: Using these images or conversations to blackmail, spread lies, sending hateful texts, and making nasty comments on social networks.
  • Preventive measures

    To prevent unauthorized access to the user’s device, one can set up the permission feature. Most of the data leak happens from the users’ device, this can be limited

    What are permissions in Android?

    The purpose of permission is to protect the privacy of an Android user. Android apps must request permission to access sensitive user data (such as contacts and SMS), as well as certain system features (such as camera and internet).

    Types of permissions

    Below is a list of permissions and what they do when turned on for an app.

  • Body sensors: Get sensor info about your vital signs.
  • Calendar: Use your default calendar.
  • Call logs: See and change your call history.
  • Camera: Use your camera to take pictures or videos.
  • Contacts: See your contacts list.
  • Location: Ask to get your device’s location.
  • Microphone: Record audio.
  • Phone: Make and manage phone calls.
  • Physical activity: Get info about your activity like walking, biking, step count, and more.
  • SMS: See and send SMS (text) messages.
  • Storage: Get photos and other files on your phone.
  • Files and media: Use photos, media, and other files on your phone.
  • How permissions can be misused?

    A malicious application which has been granted permission to use the Camera and Microphone can spy on the user without them even knowing.

    How to be wise while granting permission to applications?

    Using some common sense, while giving permission can go a long way in securing your data. For instance, a calling or Messenger or video recording app asking for access to a microphone and camera is understandable, but if an e-commerce app or a document reader asks for similar permissions, users should be wary.

    A chess game asking for permission to use a microphone, camera, see call logs and SMS is abnormal.

    If the app insists on having the permissions again and again and interferes with the experience, users should uninstall them completely.

    How to change the permission for an application?
  • 1.On your phone, open the Settings app.
  • 2.Tap Apps & notifications.
  • Tap the app you want to change. If you can't find it, first tap See all apps or App info.
  • Tap Permissions.
    If you allowed or denied any permissions for the app, you’ll find them here.
  • To change a permission setting, tap it, then choose Allow or Deny.

  • Application list
  • Application info page with permissions tab
  • Change permission by moving the slider.
  • An application where camera and microphone permission has been disabled.
  • What to do if you become a victim?
  • evidence: You should make a record of what has been posted online. Even if legal matters aren't your first thought, it could be important later. Social media can remove posts in an instant this can leave you without proof of a crime.
  • Report: Social media has strict measures to get intimate content removed. Even pornographic websites will take down the content in such cases. Except for websites dedicated to revenge porn.
  • Talk to your family: The biggest fear can be that people closest to you will see what's been posted. Telling them first could soften the blow.
  • Think about the next step: Laws are there to protect people against such harassment. But there ain’t any concrete one to date. Sections 67 and 67A of the IT Act are against the publishing and circulation of what the act calls 'obscene' or 'lascivious' content.